Writing a Script for the International Audience

When convenient, I’m a man of my word. This is why I’m following-up from an earlier blog to share my experience using my new international approach to screenwriting. Here is how I failed.

I began by adapting my American politics script because the producer liked the overall concept. So instead of the protagonist being a U.S. Governor they are now the American Ambassador to the United Nations. It felt like the perfect change because the political beats of the story remain intact, but I can include Chinese characters.

After a few minutes of editing, my change felt more like I ate a month old sandwich – it seemed smart at first, but I soon realized I just made a terrible mistake. The problem was that I know nothing about the United Nations. This is my only exposure (shout out to Boutros Boutros Boutros Boutros Boutros Boutros Ghali):

So there is no way I could accurately capture the complexity of international affairs, especially if Disney Land finally gets statehood because Disney is an aggressive litigator and I can’t afford the lawsuit. All joking aside, not understanding the United Nations was a huge problem because it made my work feel disingenuous.

This was the entire problem with adapting my writing style. I have lived my entire life in North America. This has exposed me to limited life experiences, which makes it difficult for me to create relatable content for an international audience.


“I have lived my entire life in North America. This has exposed me to limited life experiences, which makes it difficult for me to create relatable content for an international audience.”


Most of my exposure to the outside world is from movies and TV. China to me is Jackie Chan movies. This is so terrible because Jackie Chan isn’t even Chinese! He is from Hong Kong. How I felt when I learned that:

Chan knocks down chaser on bike

GIF Source

As you can see, I need more exposure to the outside world. Until I booked my next trip to Shanghai, I’m going to stick to writing what I know: divisive American Politics and well-timed slapstick falls.

Until Next Time,

Mr. Struggle

 

 

 

Writing a Script for the International Audience

Leave a Reply

